IPSC Cricket U-17 Boys’ Tournament 2024

19 May 2024


The Scindia School, Fort Gwalior hosted the highly prestigious All India IPSC Under 17 Boys’ Cricket Tournament from 27 April to 2 May 2024. This event saw the participation of 18 teams from across the country, each eager to showcase their talent and skills on the cricket field. The tournament provided a platform for young cricketers to compete at a national level and display their prowess in the sport.
The participating teams included some of the most well-known names in school cricket such as The Scindia School, Fort, Gwalior, Yadavindra Public School, Mohali, Yadavindra Public School, Patiala, MNSS Rai, The Emerald Heights International School, Indore, The Punjab Public School, Nabha, The Assam Valley School, Raj Kumar College, Raipur, Welham Boys, Dehradun, Hyderabad Public School, Begumpet, Modern School, Barakhamba Road, Mayo College, Ajmer, The Sanskar Valley, Bhopal, DPS, RK Puram, BK Birla, Pune, The Daly College, Indore, Birla Public School, Pilani, and Lawrence School, Sanawar. Each team represented their respective schools with pride and determination, adding to the competitive spirit of the tournament.
Prior to the commencement of the tournament, on 26th April, the schedule was announced, and the teams were divided into groups on a league cum knockout basis; under the able guidance of Observer- Mr. Harish Tomar, Senior Cricket Coach from DPS Mathura Road, appointed by the Sports Director of IPSC, in the presence of all the coaches and managers. The top 4 teams from the previous year were allotted to different pools, setting the stage for an intense and exciting competition.
The initial league matches took place on the first two days of the tournament. Teams like Modern School Barakhamba Road, DPS RK Puram, Yadavindra Public School Mohali, Yadavindra Public School Patiala, BK Birla Pune, Welhams School, Raj Kumar College Raipur, The Emerald Heights Indore, The Scindia School Fort Gwalior, Mayo College, The Sanskar Valley Bhopal, and Hyderabad Public School Begumpet managed to secure a place in the knockout stage.
The knockout matches commenced on 29th April with the pre-quarterfinals. The Scindia School competed against Welham Boys’ School, The Mayo College faced BK Birla Pune, The Emerald Heights played against The Sanskar Valley School Bhopal, and Hyderabad Public School faced DPS RK Puram. After intense matches, The Scindia School, The Emerald Heights, DPS RK Puram, and BK Birla Pune emerged victorious, securing their spots in the next round.
On 30th April, the quarter-finals were held. Modern School, Barakhamba Road competed against The Scindia School, and in a tightly contested match, Modern School, Barakhamba Road emerged victorious. The Emerald Heights faced Yadavindra Public School Patiala, DPS RK Puram played against Yadavindra Public School Mohali, and Raj Kumar College Raipur competed against BK Birla Pune. The winners of these matches were The Emerald Heights, DPS RK Puram, and Raj Kumar College, Raipur.
The semi-final matches were played on 1st May. In the first semi-final, Raj Kumar College Raipur secured a place in the finals with a convincing win over Modern School Barakhamba Road. In the second semi-final, The Emerald Heights defeated DPS RK Puram in a close match to secure their spot in the finals. The hardline match was played between Modern School, Barakhamba Road and DPS, RK Puram, in which Modern School, Barakhamba defeated its counterpart by 4 wickets.
The final match, held on May 2nd, 2024, was between The Raj Kumar College, Raipur, and The Emerald Heights International School, Indore. RKC Raipur won the match by 10 wickets.
After the final match, the closing ceremony was conducted at the Madhav Pavilion under the guidance of the School Principal, Mr. Ajay Singh.
During the first phase of the prize distribution ceremony, all the guest coaches and managers were felicitated. Mr. Praveen Singha, coach of YPS Mohali, was given special memorabilia as he was participating in his last IPSC before retiring.
Player of the Match award was presented to Vedansh Khodia for his stellar performance in the final match for RKC Raipur and to Grihith for his outstanding contribution in the match played against the Modern School. Vedansh Khodia was also awarded the Best Batter of the Tournament for his remarkable tally of 207 runs for RKC, Raipur, while Avi Sharma of Modern School was recognized as the Best Bowler for claiming 9 wickets. Yashvardhan Chauhan of The Scindia School was named the Man of the Series for his exceptional all-round performance, scoring 370 runs and taking 8 wickets in the tournament.
The Vote of Thanks was delivered by the Cricket Captain, Harsh Upadhyaya of the host team- The Scindia School.