The XIX HH Maharaja Madhav Rao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament 2024

07 April 2024

H H Cricket 2024

The Scindia School emerged victorious in the XIX HH Maharaja Madhav Rao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament, held from March 28 to April 1, 2024. The ceremony commenced with enthusiastic players assembled on the Madhav Field. The Captains proudly displayed their school flags, while the Scindia School Brass Band serenaded with its music. The Principal, Vice Principal, Bursar, and Mr. Vijay Prakash Sharma paid homage to the statue of late HH Maharaja Madhavrao Scindia. The Brass Band, led by the Senior Under Officer, Vaibhav Agarwal, performed a display. Shivansh Sahu, the School Team’s Captain, lighted the ceremonial torch. The Principal, Mr. Ajay Singh, presented caps to all the participating players and officially declared the HH Maharaja Madhavrao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament open. The following schools from across the nation participated in the tournament: Yadavindra Public School, Mohali; Yadavindra Public School, Patiala; Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai; Bishop Cotton School, Shimla; The Manik Public School, Maniknagar; R.K.C, Rajkot; Genesis Global School, Noida; The Daly College, Indore; and The Scindia School.
The first Semifinal was played between Daly College and The Scindia School. The toss was won by Daly College, and they elected to bat first. Daly College was bowled out for a meager 62 runs. Rishit Sharma and Bhavesh Mittal shone with the ball, taking 4 and 3 wickets respectively. The Scindia School chased down the target effortlessly in just 7 overs without losing a wicket, with a dominant partnership between Aryan and Shreshth.
The second Semifinal was played between MNSS, Rai and Genesis Global School, Noida. Genesis Global School was bowled out for 92 runs. Jasmeet and Sarthak claimed 5 wickets together. MNSS, Rai chased down the target effortlessly in just 15 overs.
In the finals played between MNSS, Rai and The Scindia School, the toss was won by The Scindia School, and they bat first. They set a target of 191 runs with Yash scoring a full century for the team. In the second innings, MNSS, Rai tried to chase the target with Vaibhav scoring a half-century but could only make 108 runs.
The Scindia School lifted the trophy of the XIX HH Maharaja Madhav Rao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament, with Mr. Prashant Mehta as the chief guest. A retired IAS officer, Mr. Mehta currently serves as the President of the Gwalior Division Cricket Association. He holds a special place in his heart for the late H H Maharaja Madhav Rao II, having served as his Personal Secretary during his tenure in three ministries. A passionate cricket enthusiast, Mr. Mehta has dedicated himself to uplifting and strengthening the facilities for players in the region. Mr. Ravi Pantnakar, former secretary of the Gwalior Division Cricket Association, also graced the occasion as the guest of honor.
Special awards were also presented:
A special award to the Youngest player of the tournament, Panshul Dahia,MNSS,Rai
Best bowler of the tournament: Rishit Sharma,The Scindia School.
Best batter of the tournament: Aryan,The Scindia School.
Best all-rounder of the tournament: Yashwardhan,The Scindia School.
Best fielder: Umar Sadik Khan, The Scindia School