XVI Scholars’ Banquet To Honour Academic Talent

15 August 2016


XVI Scholars’ Banquet for the academic year 2015-16 was held on Tuesday, 14th August 2016. The dignitaries who graced the occasion were Principal, Dr. Madhav Deo Saraswat, Bursar, Col. (Retd.) Sanjeev Kaushal, Deans, HODs and Mr. Raja Banerjee, Coordinator Music. The Chief Guest on this occasion was Justice Sanjay Misra. Justice Misra studied at Sherwood College, Nanital from 1961 to 1963 after that he came to The Scindia School, Gwalior(1964-69), (Chaitanya House). Justice Sanjay Misra studied at D.A.V collage Chandigarh from 1970 to 1973. Justice Misra did B.A. (Hons) from Punjab University and it was followed by LLB from Allahabad University in 1977. In the same year on 8th December 1977 he was enrolled as an advocate and practised in Allahabad High Court. Then Justice Misra was appointed as the judge of Allahabad High Court on 24th September 2004. He retired as judge of high court in 2014. In 2016 Justice Misra was appointed as the Lok Ayukta, Uttar Pradesh.
Upon arrival the Chief Guest, Justice Sanjay Misra was welcomed warmly by the Principal, Dr. Madhav Deo Saraswat.
The Criteria for Scholars’ Banquet is as follows:
Classes IV and X: Students who scored CGPA of 9.6 & above in overall performance.
Class XI: Students who scored 90% and above in overall aggregate.
The meritorious scholars who attended the banquet were students who scored 9.6 CGPA and above in overall performance. The scholars were Advait Jain, Siddharth Chandel, Gaurav Agrawal, Pulkit Chawla, Aditi Joshi, Harshvardhan Mehta, Sparsh Agarwalla, Ujjwal Singh, Aryan Tiwari, Karnik Kanojia, Pratham Agarwala, Saksham Bansal, Somesh Kumar, Vedansh Bansal, Abhishek Mahour, Eshaan Agarwal, Lav Asrani, Shaurya Seth, Shreyansh Agarwal, Aditya Parashar, Dhruv Agrawal, Sadanand Dubey, Pranav Wadhwa, Himanshu Moojoriya, Jai Chahar, Moksh Jaswal, Rhythm Agarwalla, Chidghan Prabhu, Shubham Agarwal, Vishvjeet Singh, Astitva Jindal, Yash Jain, Akash Phogat, Dhruv Periwal, Daksh Gupta, Satya Prakash, Harshit Bhargava, Kushagra Srivastav, Prasoon Naithani, Saksham Kalra, Raman Kumar, Sanidhya Agicha, Yohen Thounaojam, Keshav Sarawgi, Snehil Tripathi, Siddharth Jain, Ojas Agarwal, Vedant Malhotra, Yatharth Garg, Kabir Saund, Safal Rai, Suryansh Goyal, Adarsh Tulsyan, Ayush Nandwana, Pavan Jaini and Yatharth Garg.
The first toast was raised by the Principal, Dr Madhav Deo Saraswat in honour of the Chief Guest, Justice Sanjay Misra. The second toast was raised by SSP, Mriganka Ghosh for happiness of the school.
There was a special mention of Winner of Gurudwara Trophy, (Best House in Academics) which went to Madhav House for the year 2014-15. The Sam Pitroda Award (For Excellence in Science Project) was given to Atul Korkoo and Pulkit Agrawal for 2014. It was also mentioned that Umang Mathur Memorial Award (Non Class Xii Academics) went to Pulkit Agrawal for 2014. Then Winner of Governor's Medal for scoring highest percentage in Class XII was mentioned which went to Anustup Garai for 2013 -14.
The Chief Guest, Justice Sanjay Misra motivated the boys and told them to be always hopeful in a positive way. There should be adequate stress on time management apart from focus on studies. Academic brilliance must be nurtured with diligence, perseverance and proper time management. Justice Misra reminded the boys to read the lessons again for a proper understanding of the topic.
All the dignitaries showed their blessings on the meritorious students and the students vowed to continue to excel in studies and keep up the good score. It was felt that they have miles to go and promises to keep!