An alumnus of the Scindia School, he is a graduate from IIT, Delhi. He is the Founder & Chairman, NIIT Limited, NIIT Technologies Ltd. & Founder, NIIT University. For his contribution in shaping the country’s IT sector, he was awarded the prestigious Padma Bhushan in 2011.

His contributions in the fields of technology and the IT-training industry have been widely acknowledged and he has been conferred prestigious awards like – Distinguished Alumnus Award at IIT Delhi in 1995; The ‘IT man of the Year’ by IT industry journal, Dataquest in 1998; ‘Master Entrepreneur of the Year’ by Ernst & Young in 1999; Madhav Award in 1999 at the Scindia School, Gwalior, and Lifetime Achievement ICT Award 2019 by Dataquest.

He is also the Member of the Board of Governors, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University; Executive Board, ISB, Hyderabad; Member, Board of Governors, IIM Udaipur, and Member of the University Court of Delhi University. He was the Chairman of NASSCOM (2011-12). Currently he is the Chairman of NASSCOM Cyber Security Task Force that has been set up in response to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision to see India emerge as a global hub of Cyber Security products and services.

He is a powerhouse of ideas and energy, and his ability to get into the minutest details of any and every process, makes him a blessing for the school. He is always ready to help not only personally, but also mobilizes other resources for the benefit of the school. His constant endeavour is to take the institution forward to meet the highest standards of education. He is culturally rooted, spiritually inclined and is an avid art collector.

He is the Vice President of the Scindia Education Society and the Vice President of the Board of Governors of The Scindia School. He is the Chairman of ICT Committee and Admissions Committee, and member of Alumni Relationship Committee and Infrastructure Committee. He has served on the Board for 20 years.