Swarnotsav 2016

The Scindia School hosted the third ‘Swarnotsav’ to commemorate the loving memory of Swarn Sadana (Ex Dl, 2012) whom we lost in an unfortunate road accident in the year 2010. A beautiful poem was read out at the beginning in loving memory of Swarn. The beautiful moments spent with him will be cherished in the heart of every Scindian. An Inter School Music and Dance Competition in his memory is thus a befitting tribute to Swarn. The chief guest on this occasion was Ms Rajshree Sawant, Principal, Gwalior Glory School High School. After the traditional lighting of lamp the competition began in full earnest.

The School Prefect, Arindam Bharadwaj reiterated the importance of hosting the event and it cemented the bond with the dear departed. The panel of judges were from the field of music and dance. For vocal the judges were Mr Sanjay Dele, professor of vocal music at Bhartiya Sangeet Mahavidyalaya, Ms jyoti Sharma, professor of vocal music at Madhav Sangeet Mahavidyalaya and Mr Abhijeet coordinator at Hadd Hassu Khan Dhrupad Kendra.

For instrumental music the judges were Mr Pramod Bapat, lecturer of sitar at Shankar Gandharv Mahavidhyalaya, Mr Shyam Shankar Mahor lecturer of tabla at Madhav Sangeet Mahavidyalaya and Mr Mukul Sharma music lecturer at GD Goyanka School. Ms Padmaja Wariar and Ms Panchali from Kala Samuh judged the dance competition.

A melodious medley of instrumental music by the school orchestra provided an apt start to the occasion. Bhartiyam, Vidya Bhawan, Greenwood, Gwalior Glory High School, Scindia Kanya Vidyalaya and the host school,The Scindia School participated in three sections: vocal music, instrumental and dance. The solo songs enthralled the eager audience. The audience was spellbound by the sensitive and accomplished playing of the keyboard by young students. It was an absolute joy to hear these young students play so expertly and confidently.

The last segment of the competition was the Classical Dance round. The participants presented well-choreographed renditions of Kathak, Bharatnatyam and Odissi dance forms. It was highly appreciated by the audience.

While the judges were busy preparing the results Ayush Parab gave a beautiful rendition on table, Aadya Mishra, Manya Nagi, Aniket Agarwal sang melodiously and Nitesh Thakuri sang a Nepali song joyfully.

The first prize in Vocal Music went to Akshida Wakankar from Vidya Bhawan, Sonam Bhutia from The Scindia School came second while Shruti Dubey from Gwalior Glory High School stood third.

The first prize in Instrumental Music went to Suvrat Mahindroo from the host school whereas the first runner up was Naman Gangil from Gwalior Glory High School and Indraneel Bhattacharya from Bhartiyam was the second runner up.

The first prize in Dance category went to Dhruv Periwal from The Scindia School, Taru Rajangaonkar from Gwalior Glory High School stood second and Prerna Deo from Bhartiyam stood third.

The overall position is as follows:
1st The Scindia School
2nd Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan
3rd Gwlaior Glory High School

Since the host school does not compete in this competition hence the overall trophy for Swarnotsav 2016 went to Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan. The prizes were given away by the distinguished chief guest, Ms Rajshree Sawant. At the end Bursar, Col Sanjiv Kaushal gave a token of love and respect to the chief guest.